Parliament to Pimlico

P1010017

This last year, my job has taken me on a number of courses in London- this has given me the chance to variously walk through Covent Garden and by the Thames around Embankment . Yesterday, I found myself walking the other way along the river from Parliament to Pimlico.

I was struck first of all as I passed Parliament, by the contrast between Richard I in his full enemy-destroying pride, placed right by the Houses of Parliament and then hidden away in a small park, the victims of one of his descendents- the Burghers of Calais by Rodin:

P1010015

It is difficult to look at that statue today without thinking of what has been going on in Calais in the past month.

Then, on through the park, turning my back on Westminster:

P1010014

…Towards Tate Britain where I only had time to enjoy the architecture, rather than the actual art:

P1010009

P1010008

P1010007

P1010006

Finally, next to it, the Chelsea College of Arts:

P1010005

Leave a Reply

